Angelofabio Attolico joined the Steering Committee in 2019.

PhD in post-classical archaeology at the University of Bari, he has participated as a speaker in many international conferences and has written several scientific publications on archaeology and medieval art history, with particular attention to the Langobard age, to ancient mobility and the phenomenon of rock settlements. He is an archaeologist accredited by the Mibac, an environmental hiking guide, a tour guide and a tour leader recognized by the Apulia Region. He worked on the construction of some PUGs, with particular attention to the conservation of the so-called tratturi. In the context of cultural and environmental heritage, he is one of the authors of the 2017-2020 strategic plan of the Apulia Region, dealing with the development of cultural, slow and green tourism products for both public and private entities. He is technical project manager of two Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe: for the European Association Vie Francigene he coordinates the Via Francigena del Sud, for the Phoenicians’ Route he deals with Smart Ways and integrated experiential tourism products. Since 2020, he has been a member, appointed by the Minister Franceschini, of the Permanent Commission for the Promotion of Tourism in Italy headed by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Tourism.

He is co-founder of the regional “Cammini di Puglia” network and the national “Cammini del Sud” network, and President of In Itinere, a cooperative with which he conceived, designed and structured the Cammino Materano and the Via Traiana. He is currently Head of Sustainable Tourism, Cultural Routes and Itineraries at the Department of Tourism, Economics of Culture and Valorisation of the Territory, Apulia Region.

Mario Fava

Mario Fava has been a member of the Steering Committee since 2023. 

President of the Local Councils’ Association, Malta.

On a national political level, he occupied the post of a member in the Labour Party National Executive and later as the President of the Labour Party Local Government Section.  He is also a member of the Labour Party Administration. He contested the Local Councils elections for the first time in 2002 and was elected as a Councillor within the Swieqi Local Council. Currently he is a Councillor in the Fgura Local Council. He is a board member for the Traffic Management Committee by Transport Malta, the Users Committee by Planning Authority, the Malta Communications Authority Board, the Civil Society Committee, MCESD, Projects+, Resource, Recovery and Recycling Agency and Civil Protection Council. Internationally, he is a member of the COR in Brussels, SEDEC and NAT Commissions. Mario is also the Head of the Maltese Delgeation of the Council of Europe in Srasbourg.

Elio Štifanić

Elio Štifanić has been a member of the Steering Committee since 2020. 

PhD in economics at Juraj Dobrila University in Pula, he recently graduated in corporate finance. He began his career as an associate at a state institution. In 2008, he was hired by the City of Poreč as an expert for the economy and, from 2010, is General Officer for Internal Audit. Since 2015, he has been Director of the Open People’s University of Poreč. Since 2017 he has been Deputy Mayor of the City of Poreč-Parenzo.


Barbara Toce has been a member of the Steering Committee since 2023. 

A lawyer, she has a long political experience that saw her involved for 15 years first as Vice Mayor and then Mayor, of a small municipality in the Marche region, Pedaso. She has served as Vice President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe. Delegate of the National Association ‘The Women of Marble’ for the Marche Region.