International Confederation Structure:

President pro tempore of the Confederation:
Prof. Rachid Chamoun (2018-2020)
Director, LAU – Louis Cardahi Foundation
Lebanese American University (Lebanon)
Research Interest: Protection of Tangible and Intangible Cultural Heritage, Cultural Tourism

Director of the Confederation:
Dr. Antonio Barone
Integrated Tourism and lifelong learning expert
Research Interest: Local development and Tourism

Presidency Bureau

Xunta de Galicia (Spain)
Autonomous City of Melilla (Spain)
Municipality of Otranto (Italy)
Municipality of Sambuca di Sicilia (Italy)
Xanthi Chamber of Commerce (Greece)
Pafos Regional Board of Tourism (Cyprus)

Scientific Committee

Coordinator of the Scientific Committee:
Prof.ssa Alessia Mariotti
University of Bologna, Rimini Campus (Italy)
Research Interest: Tourism Sciences

Other Members:
Prof. Arturo Ruiz Rodriguez (President of the three-year period 2013-2016)
University of Jaén (Spain)
Research Interest: Archeology

Prof.ssa Wided Majdoub
University of Sousse (Tunisia)
Research Interest: Economics, Marketing and Development

Prof.ssa Jocelyne Napoli
University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse III (France)
Laboratory EIREST, University Paris 1 Panthèon-Sorbonne
Research Interest: Tourism impacts on Local Economy, Sustainable Tourism

Prof.ssa Ksenija Keča
Libertas International University of Zagreb (Croatia)
Research Interest: International Relations and Tourism Management

Prof. Karsten Xuereb
University of Malta
Project Manager of Inizjamed
Research Interest: Cultural Policy

Prof. Antoine L. Lahoud
School of Architecture and Design
Lebanese American University (Lebanon)
Member of ICOMOS – Forum UNESCO
Research Interest: Conservation, Restoration and Cultural Heritage

Recent posts

Random article

The Scientific Committee is set up to perform the following functions:

a) examine the documents related to new applications for membership, express opinions and confirm the scientific importance of the documents on the basis of the provisions in force;

b) express opinions on the activities proposed in the Confederation’s work plan;

c) make proposals;

d) monitor the scientific quality of the activities carried out and the presence of the expected eligibility requirements;

e) monitor the scientific quality of international promotional material;

f) draw up an annual report on the activities carried out.

In addition to the annual meeting at the General Assembly of the Phoenicians’ Route, the members of the Scientific Committee are asked to give their opinion on the candidacies of new members and on the consistency of the activities carried out during the year compared to the objectives established by the General Assembly.

Moreover, the Scientific Committee is required to make contributions through specific research, often subject of both academic publications and international scientific dissemination at events, conferences, seminars, forums, through practical means such as educational activities and in contexts in which members of the Committee operate individually and in specific activities of the Cultural Route.

The work of the Scientific Committee is sometimes supported and supported by the Technical Steering Committee.

Each National Network will be able to create a Scientific Committee of the Network with different competencies and research areas, for example:

  • Archaeology and history
  • Tourism sciences and local development
  • Education and pedagogy
  • Cultural management, culture economy, cultural policies, cultural management
  • Communication and sustainable development

The members of the Scientific Committees of the Networks may also be appointed to join the Transversal Thematic Commissions to support the work of the Scientific Committee mentioned above.

Technical Steering Committee

Dr. Antonio Barone
Director of the Phoenicians’ Route
Head of Networking Unit

Dr. Enzo Finocchiaro
Head of Sustainable Tourism Unit

Dr. Sabrina Busato
President Feisct – European Federation of Cultural and Historical Cultural Itineraries
Head of Territorial Development Unit

Dr. Manuel Peregrina
General Secretary of the Phoenicians’ Route Spain
Head of Cultural Heritage Unit

Committee of Honor

Honorary Presidents of the Phoenicians’ Route

Prof. Xavier Nieto Prieto (Former President 2010-2012)
Member of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Board (STAB) of the 2001 UNESCO Convention for the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage

Dott. Walter Cabasino (Former President 2012-2014)
Former Mayor of the Municipality of Pula (Sardinia)

Prof. Arturo Ruiz Rodriguez (Former President 2014-2016)
University of Jaén (Spain)

Prof. Giovanni Brizzi (Former President 2016-2018)
University of Bologna (Italy)

Prof. Michel Thomas-Penette (Former Director, European Institute of Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe)